USED & ABUSED

Used & Abused
Comments

USED & ABUSED



Written by James Ratcliffe
15 Tuesday 15th April 2014

At the gallery until Thursday, Used & Abused explores and celebrates the raw culture and lifestyle of skateboarding through the power of illustration and design. Featuring a handmade aesthetic, the show champions youthful DIY attitudes to life, doing things just for the love of it and bringing people together to have fun in a creative atmosphere.

As an audience of creatives, teenagers and industry professionals visited the space for the launch, skaters thrashed the two mini-ramps set up either side of the central showcase until the floor became soaked with the free drinks provided by the show.

It didn’t stop there, as the vibe carried over to the Big Chill bar where the main sponsors and affiliates, Entirety Clothing and Campus Skatepark, threw a private hip-hop party.

It was a truly electric and atmospheric launch for the exhibition, broadcasting some true talent in the heart of Bristol. Exhibition curator Raquel Lowsley, from Bath School of Art and Design, was overwhelmed by the response to the launch night.

Used & Abused features work from fifty of the UK's most exciting and talented illustrators, including Liam Barrett, Jean Jullien, Marcus Oakley, Jay Cover, Supermundane, Nicolas Burrows, Mike O'Shea, Adam Higton, Sainty, Harry McKenzie, Jack Bailey, Dom Owen, Eliot Wyatt, Ed Cheverton and 45rpm.

A number of the one-off, limited edition decks have already been sold but others are still available to view and purchase on Entirety Clothing's website, www.entiretystore.co.uk/usedandabused. They can either be picked up this Thursday morning from the space or sent out across the UK for an additional fee.

Sponsored by

Entirety Clothing 
Campus Skatepark 
Instagram: @usedandabusedshow
Blog

Full list of illustrators taking part:

-Liam Barrett http://liam-barrett.tumblr.com/
-Jean Jullien http://www.jeanjullien.com/
-Natasha Durley http://natashadurley.com/
-Mike O'Shea http://www.mikeoshea.org/
-Alex Walker http://www.alexjwalker.co.uk/About
-Dominic Owen http://dominic-owen.co.uk/
-Henry St Leger aka Sainty http://www.henrystleger.com/
-Marcus Oakley http://www.marcusoakley.com/
-45prm http://45rpmwhat.tumblr.com/
-Jack Bailey http://www.jack-bailey.com/
-George McCallum http://georgemccallumillustration.com/
-Jess Warby http://www.jesswarby.com/
-Tom Cummings aka Tommings https://www.facebook.com/tommings.illustration
-Jimmy Patrick http://cargocollective.com/jimmypatrick
-Ollie Smith http://www.mon53.co.uk/
-Nikoo Bafti http://nikoobafti.tumblr.com/
-Adam Higton http://www.adamhigton.com/
-Grant Peacock aka Kid Milk http://kidmilk.tumblr.com/
-Pippa Toole http://pippatoole.co.uk/
-Rob Hodgson http://www.robhodgson.com/
-Rob Lowe aka Supermundane http://supermundane.com/
-Lauren Squires http://custardskinmixedin.bigcartel.com/
-Will Harvey http://willharvey.tumblr.com/
-Edward Cheverton http://cargocollective.com/edwardcheverton
-Nicolas Burrows http://www.nicolasburrows.co.uk/
-Marina Muun http://www.marinamuun.com/
-Harry McKenzie http://harrymckenzie.tumblr.com/
-Callum Robey http://callumrobey.blogspot.co.uk/
-Thomas Howes http://tomhowesworks.com/
-Jonny Packham aka Jaypee http://www.jonnypackham.co.uk/
-Jay Cover http://jaycover.com/
-Eliot Wyatt http://cargocollective.com/eliotwyatt
-Hannah Josey http://www.hannahjosey.co.uk/
-Calum Brodie http://calumbrodieillustration.co.uk/
-Matt Bromley http://www.madebybromley.com/
-Daniel Baker http://www.baker2d.co.uk/
-Xander Hook Hultgren http://xanderhultgren.com/
-George Newman http://georgenewmanillustration.com/
-Martin Lee http://martinjlee.com/
-Harry Chilcott
-Nigel Robinson

Don't Panic attempt to credit photographers and content owners wherever possible, however due to the sheer size and nature of the internet this is sometimes impractical or impossible. If you see any images on our site which you believe belong to yourself or another and we have incorrectly used it please let us know at panic@dontpaniconline.com and we will respond asap.



Comments

MORE FROM DON'T PANIC