Goldie to release 'Masterpiece'


Written by James Ratcliffe
23 Wednesday 23rd July 2014

Goldie, musician, drum and bass icon, actor and artist, has been on the scene for over 20 years and counting. With over 3 million records sold worldwide to date and a host of prestigious accolades under his belt, he is the perfect talent to front the next album in the prized ‘Masterpiece’ series from Ministry of Sound due for release on 18th August. 
The ‘Masterpiece’ series is a concept fronted by artists and DJs of the highest calibre. It’s an opportunity for these pioneering acts to curate a three disc musical journey that depicts their own influences and inspirations which they can share with their fans. With predecessors including David Rodigan, Andrew Weatherall, Fabio and Grooverider and Gilles Peterson, the level of reputation and irrefutable standing of acts selected for ‘Masterpiece’ in the past is a given. 
As an artist, actor and musician, Goldie’s talents are vast and his music career undisputed - he is often cited as an influential contributor to the field of drum and bass. 20 years ago he spawned the ever successful drum and bass label, Metalheadz and created the far-famed ‘Metalheadz Sunday Sessions’club night, which achieved legendary status at London’s Blue Note club, going down in history as one of drum and bass’ most important club nights. Since then he has stretched his wings working on a range of projects from writing music for an orchestra to exhibiting his own artwork. 
To mark Goldie’s 20 year milestone, Metalheadz and Warner Brothers came together to release Goldie’s first ever career-spanning retrospective entitled ‘The Alchemist: The Best Of Goldie 1992-2012’.Released March 2013 this definitive collection reads like an almanac to the history and development of drum & bass. 
Like a true alchemist, Goldie has gained recognition for his prolific work academically with various honorary degrees awarded in arts and music from Thames Valley University (London), Brunel University (London) and Wolverhampton University. Goldie was recently voted, by the public, into the Top 60 of the ‘New Elizabethans’ (the most influential leading figures in HM Queen Elizabeth II’s reign) alongside David Attenborough, Margaret Thatcher and Sir Edmund Hillary to name but a few. 
Broken down into three discs titled ‘The Alpha’, ‘Journeyman’ and ‘Headzville’, Goldie takes us on a journey from early inspirations such as Junior Murvin, Terry Callier, Serious Intention and Soul II Soulthrough to drum and bass classics from the likes of Zero B, Nookie, Egyptian Empire and Roni Size. Disc 3 is a showcase of some of the crème de la crème of producers signed to Goldie’s own label Metalheadz, including dBridge, Commix, Jubei and more. 
Constantly evolving and reinventing himself, Goldie’s life weaves many tales of urban blight and spiritual faith together.  It is with art though, be it through the medium of paint, music or acting that Goldie has broken the chains of limitations.  Goldie is self creativity, new life and mystical union; Goldie is alchemy – mimicked beautifully in this ‘Masterpiece’.

CD1 The Alpha  Track

1 Goldie  My Little India 
2 Terry Callier Lazarus Man
3 Soul II Soul Feat. Caron Wheeler Back To Life (However Do You Want Me)
4 Maze & Frankie Beverly Twilight
5 Cherrelle With Alexander O'Neal Saturday Love 
6 Teena Marie Behind The Groove
7 Serious Intention You Don't Know
8 Smokey Robinson & The Miracles The Tears Of A Clown
9 Junior Murvin Police & Thieves
10 Ken Boothe Everything I Own
11 Roy Ayers Ubiquity Everybody Loves The Sunshine
12 [re:jazz] Inner City Life
13 Radiohead Just
CD2 Journeyman Track

1 Top Buzz Living In Darkness
2 Zero B Lock Up
3 Dragon Fly Visions Of Rage
4 Nookie Pedro Pulls An Essex Sort
5 A Guy Called Gerald Like A Drug
6 Egyptian Empire A.K.A Tim Taylor The Horn Track
7 Wax Doctor A New Direction
8 Internal Affairs Hands To Heaven
9 Roni Size It’s A Jazz Thing
10 Nookie Only You
11 Wax Doctor Heat
12 Krust Soul In Motion
13 Internal Affairs In My Soul
14 Goldie Sea Of Tears
15 Goldie Kemistry
CD3 Headzville Track

1 dBridge  Inner Disbelief 
2 Commix Be True
3 Marcus Intalex & ST Files Universe
4 Rufige Kru Special Request
5 Rufige Kru Feat. D-Bridge Mirror
6 DLR & Mako Your Mind
7 Scar Old Ground (Vinyl Exclusive mix)
8 Jubei Patience VIP
9 Lenzman Collapse
10 Break Headz Up
11 Ulterior Motive Given Contact
12 Marcus Intalex Hell to Pay
13 Blocks & Escher Razor
14 Klute   Curley Wurley
15 Loxy & Ink Headz Roll
16 Kiat Feeder
17 Commix Belleview
18 Doc Scott Blue Skies
19 Ivy Lab & Hydro Feat. Frank Carter III & Lucy Annika Make It Clear 
20 Rufige Kru My Thoughts
21 Rufige Kru Sometime Sad Day
22 Rufige Kru Feat. Cleveland Watkiss Beachdrifta VIP


Don't Panic attempt to credit photographers and content owners wherever possible, however due to the sheer size and nature of the internet this is sometimes impractical or impossible. If you see any images on our site which you believe belong to yourself or another and we have incorrectly used it please let us know at and we will respond asap.